Australia’s Court Structure

Posted by adam on August 14, 2014

Australia’s Court Structure

There are  levels of court in Australia. The federal courts, or the commonwealth courts, are the highest level. Their powers cover the whole of the country. State and territory courts only deal with cases from their own region. Federal courts can overturn any decision made in a state or territorial court.

The High Court of Australia is the highest court of them all.

Federal Courts include the Federal Court, Federal Circuit Court, Industrial Relations Court, Family Court, Administrative appeals Court,  National Native Trial Tribunal.

State and territory courts include Supreme Courts, District Courts, Local Courts.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.